Jesse Stovall Wires Field at Park Jefferson




Jesse Stovall bettered his Friday Carlson Clash finishing position, by one spot, Saturday, at Park Jefferson International Speedway. He wired the field and was never seriously challenged in winning the final night of the two-night South Dakota stand.


"It's just awesome to be racing this well right now," commented Stovall after the race. "We have these Black Diamond Race Cars rolling. It kind of brought my energy back up about racing. I know how hard it is to run good and win races and also how easy it is to fall down. Racing now on several different surfaces has proven to me how versatile this car is. I'm so glad we decided to make the trip here to race."


Behind Stovall, Terry Phillips locked up second early. However, behind Phillips it was a complete free for all. With so many different fast lines on the speedway, drivers were able to maneuver where their particular car worked well and the racing was intense.


Kyle Berck made a host of changes during the afternoon to his Longhorn Chassis and advanced throughout the feature. Late in the running, he rolled to the bottom of Jason Utter and took control of third.


Utter, Rodney Sanders and Stormy Scott all raced in close quarters late. Utter had another good night running fourth. Rodney Sanders was the evening's Casey's General Stores Hard Charger with a 13 position gain to fifth.


Overall five drivers in the feature moved forward nine or more positions. Stovall's margin of victory was 3.179 seconds. The race was slowed by only one yellow. It was a single car caution thrown for Dan Shepherd. 13 cars finished on the lead lap, and 19 were running at the end.


The three qualifying heats were won by Jesse Stovall, Jason Utter and Stormy Scott.




A-Main (40 laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Terry Phillips 3. Kyle Berck 4. Jason Utter 5. Rodney Sanders 6. Stormy Scott 7. RC Whitwell 8. Chad Simpson 9. Chris Spieker 10. Dave Eckrich 11. Jeremy Payne 12. Skip Frey 13. JC Wyman 14. Bill Leighton 15. Jake O'Neil 16. Austin Siebert 17. Jason O'Brien 18. Mike Stadel 19. Dustin Walker 20. Ryan Gustin 21. Mark Rose 22. Scott Lewis 23. Dan Shepherd 24. Junior Coover


B-Main (12 laps): 1. Chad Simpson 2. Rodney Sanders 3. RC Whitwell 4. Scott Lewis 5. Skip Frey 6. Dan Shepherd 7. Ben Sukup 8. Michael Benson 9. Gale Vogt 10. Junior Coover 11. John Hoefert 12. Mark Rose 13. Keegan Nordquist


Heat 1 (10 laps): 1. Jesse Stovall 2. Terry Phillips 3. Mike Stadel 4. Kyle Berck 5. Jeremy Payne 6. Ryan Gustin 7. Rodney Sanders 8. Keegan Nordquist 9. Skip Frey 10. John Hoefert


Heat 2 (10 laps): 1. Jason Utter 2. Bill Leighton 3. Chris Spieker 4. JC Wyman 5. Jason O'Brien 6. Austin Siebert 7. RC Whitwell 8. Mark Rose 9. Ben Sukup 10. Junior Coover


Heat 3 (10 laps): 1. Stormy Scott 2. Dustin Walker 3. Dave Eckrich 4. Jake O'Neil 5. Chad Simpson 6. Scott Lewis 7. Michael Benson 8. Dan Shepherd 9. Gale Vogt



The series' next event will bring the competitors of the CBC back to Park Jefferson as they begin a three-day swing in late June with Park Jefferson Speedway on Thursday June 25, Friday at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska before closing out the trip on Saturday June 26 at the Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa for the annual Liberty 50.



For more information on the Corn Belt Clash Series, visit their website at and follow them on Twitter and Facebook.