Shereck Breaks Through at I-80 to Closeout Spring Meltdown

Saturday's Corn Belt Clash Series Spring Meltdown finale from I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska was dominated by Jim Shereck. Starting the feature on the pole, Shereck quickly took the lead and kept his car as straight as possible to nail down the biggest win of his career. His 3.6 second margin of victory netted the team $5,000, and they were all smiles in Victory Lane.

"A lot of it was luck," said Shereck. "Good heat race, good points, getting on the pole. I can't thank my kids, Marc (crew chief), they did a super job. We've got a limited crew, but we get the most out of it. You had to keep it straight or you wouldn't have any tires. I don't even know what these look like. I could tell though, at the end, the tires were fading."

Second place is also the best ever finish in CBC/MLRA action for Norfolk, Nebraska standout Tad Pospisil. Sporting a new Black Diamond Chassis this weekend, Pospisil passed four cars in his heat to earn the third starting spot. He moved to second early and made several charges at Shereck, but never had a good enough run to pull even with him.

"It was a great weekend, this first weekend in the car," commented Pospisil. "This car is just fabulous from the get go. We've got a lot of laps here. To bring a new car to it, at least I got a little comfort with this track. I tried real hard early to get him (Shereck). I wore my tire completely bald."

Jeremy Payne started the race on the outside of the front row and lost second before he was able to get to the bottom of the track. Once in third he settled in. The trio ran in close quarters briefly while navigating lapped traffic. Once Shereck put a pair of lapped cars between himself and the rest of the field, it was simply a matter knocking down laps and maintaining equipment.

Qualifying heat races were won by; Terry Phillips, Jason Krohn, Jim Shereck and Jeremy Payne.

Next for the Corn Belt Clash Series is a three stop swing. Friday April 17 the drivers  invade the Davenport Speedway for a $4,000 to win event. The following night they make the short trek to 34 Raceway for the $10,050 to win Slocum 50 before closing out the weekend with the series first ever stop at Quad Citys Speedway for a $3,000 to win event on April 19th to close out the weekend.

A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Jim Shereck 2. Tad Pospisil, 3. Jeremy Payne 4. Chase Junghans 5. Stormy Scott 6. Dave Eckrich 7. Jason Krohn 8. Tommy Weder Jr. 9. Terry Phillips 10. John Anderson 11. Ryan Gustin 12. Jason Utter 13. RC Whitwell 14. Jake O'Neil 15. Chad Simpson 16. Dustin Walker 17. Ben Schaller 18. Austin Siebert 19. Jeremy Keller 20. Spencer Diercks 21. Scott Lewis 22. Jason O'Brien 23. Dan Shepherd 24. Bill Leighton 25. Kyle Berck 26. Chris Spieker 27. Denny Eckrich 28. JC Wyman 29. Brian Kosiski 30. Bill Koons

B Feature #1 (12 Laps): 1. JC Wyman 2. Dan Shepherd 3. Ben Schaller 4. Austin Siebert 5. Bill Leighton 6. Chad Simpson 7. Skip Frey 8. Junior Coover 9. Mike Stadel 10. Gary Brown Jr. 11. Bill Koons 12. Robbie Jorgensen 13. Terry Bouschee

B Feature #2 (12 Laps): 1. Jake O'Neil 2. Jason Utter 3. Jason O'Brien 4. Spencer Diercks 5. Scott Lewis 6. Doug Herrick 7. Brian Kosiski 8. Mike Wiarda 9. Jay Johnson 10. Jim Johnson 11. Kyle Berck 12. Mark Rose

Heat #1 (10 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Tad Pospisil 3. RC Whitwell 4. Ryan Gustin 5. Denny Eckrich 6. Chad Simpson 7. Austin Siebert 8. Kyle Berck 9. Mike Wiarda 10. Bill Koons 11. Junior Coover

Heat #2 (10 Laps): 1. Jason Krohn 2. Storm Scott 3. Chris Spieker 4. Skip Frey 5. Jason Utter 6. Jason O'Brien 7. Doug Herrick 8. Ben Schaller 9. Bill Leighton 10. Jay Johnson

Heat #3 (10 Laps): 1. Jim Shereck 2. Jeremy Keller 3. John Anderson 4. Dave Eckrich 5. JC Wyman 6. Mike Stadel 7. Dan Shepherd 8. Gary Brown 9. Jim Johnson 10. Terry Bouschee

Heat #4 (10 Laps): 1. Jeremy Payne 2. Chase Junghans 3. Dustin Walker 4. Tommy Weder Jr. 5. Jake O'Neil 6. Scott Lewis 7. Spencer Diercks 8. Brian Kosiski 9. Robbie Jorgensen 10. Mark Rose

Report courtesy of