Wendling Caps Tough Week With First Corn Belt Clash Series Win




Even though the week didn’t start off very well for Hazelton, Iowa veteran Rick Wendling, it sure changed on Saturday as he captured his first Corn Belt Clash Series victory at Elko Speedway in Elko, Minnesota.


Wendling rolled his other car Tuesday in an event but brought is Open car to the Elko speedplant where the only event he didn’t win was his heat race. Wendling captured not only the QuickCar Racing Products Quick Six to set on the pole for the 35 lap feature, but went on to lead every lap of the A to capture his first career Corn Belt Clash Series victory.


Dave Eckrich and Adam Hensel gave chase to Wendling over the first half of the event with Eckrich showing himself as a force to reckon with for the top spot. Action was slowed by several cautions as both Jeff Provinzino and Tim Isenberg worked their way into the top-five, but it was Wendling who was able to pull away from the #58 of Eckrich after a late caution to capture the $3,000 pay day.


The Corn Belt Clash Series next race will on Friday, May 17 at Davenport Speedway in Davenport, Iowa for the rescheduled running of the Karsyn’s Krusaders 40 that was postponed earlier in the month due to wet and cold conditions.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Jeff Provinzino

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Eric Breeschoton

QuickCar Racing Prouducts Quick Six: Rick Wendling



1.     Rick Wendling

2.     Dave Eckrich

3.     Jeff Provinzino

4.     Adam Hensel

5.     Tim Isenberg

6.     Eric Breeschoten

7.     Mark Rose

8.     Brunson Behning

9.     Doug Herrick

10.  Kevin Sather

11.  Dennis Hilson

12.  Doug Blashe

13.  Andrew McKay

14.  Roger Herrick


DirtonDirt.com Rookie of the Race Award: Brunson Behning

AllStar Performance Hard Charger: Tim Isenberg

Hooker Custom Harness Award:  Rick Wendling

Wehrs Machine Award: Dave Eckrich

CV Products Award: Dave Eckrich

JRi Shocks Award: Dave Eckrich

VP Racing Fuels Heartland Tough Luck Award: Dennis Hilson


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, Pro Power Racing Engines, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams DirtonDirt.com, Out-Pace Racing Products, Karsyn’s Krusaders and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, JRi Shocks, Wehrs Machine, Eastern Iowa Spray Foam and Water Proofing, VP Racing Fuels Heartland R.A.C.E. and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Mason Racin, Grove Automotive, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Bully Dog and Quarter Master


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to www.CornBeltClash.com. We are also on Facebook!