Chad Simpson Goes Back-To-Back and Sweeps the Weekend





Continuing his roll from the previous night, Chad Simpson went back-to-back in Corn Belt Clash Series action. The three-time series champion captured the $3,000 pay day at Quincy Raceways on Sunday night as Simpson led all 40 laps on his way to his securing his second straight series win for the weekend, and third straight win as he also won in MLRA competition the previous weekend.


A field of 34 cars checked into the Quincy speed plant, with Simpson and Brandon Sheppard making up the front row of the 40-lap A-Main. Simpson jumped out to an early lead, with Babb and Sheppard in tow. A series of early cautions slowed the event, with Simpson able to capitalize on the restarts to keep his #25 MasterSbilt by Huey out front while Sheppard and Babb battled back and forth for the runner-up position for most of the race.


The leaders entered lapped traffic just prior to the mid-point of the race, with Babb and Sheppard able to close the gap on Simpson who at times struggled with lapped traffic on the narrow surface. As the laps wound down, Sheppard was able to secure the second position from Babb and begin his push on the leader in the closing laps. Simpson was able to hold off the charging Sheppard to secure the win and sweep the series events for the weekend. Simpson and Sheppard were followed to the checkers by Shannon Babb, Brian Shirley, Jason Perry and Tony Jackson Jr.


The Corn Belt Clash Series next race will be Saturday May 11th at Elko Speedway in Elko, Minnesota as the paved facility once again covers it surface with dirt and hosts the series. The following week the series will head to Davenport Speedway in Davenport, Iowa on May 17 for the rescheduled running of the Karsyn’s Krusaders 40 that was postponed earlier in the month due to wet and cold conditions.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Chad Simpson

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Brandon Sheppard

Pro Power Racing Engines Heat Race #3 Winner: Shannon Babb

Cen Pe Co Lubricants Heat Race #4 Winner: Tyler Reddick

VP Racing Fuels Heartland B-Main #1 Winner: Terry Phillips B-Main #2 Winner: Justin Mitchell



1. Chad Simpson

2. Brandon Sheppard

3. Shannon Babb

4. Brian Shirley

5. Jason Perry

6. Tony Jackson Jr.

7. Chris Simpson

8. Tyler Reddick

9. Terry Phillips

10. Kevin Weaver

11. Mark Burgtorf

12. Scott Schmidt

13. Ryan Unzicker

14. Robby Warner

15. Brandon Thirlby

16. Dustin Walker

17. Dave Eckrich

18. Jake Meier

19. Justin Reed

20. Justin Alspin

21. Justin Mitchel

22. Doug Herrick

23. Jesse Stovall

24. Bronson Behning Rookie of the Race Award: Doug Herrick

AllStar Performance Hard Charger: Brian Shirley

Hooker Custom Harness Award: Chad Simpson

Wehrs Machine Award: Chad Simpson

CV Products Award: Dave Eckrich

JRi Shocks Award: Chris Simpson

VP Racing Fuels Heartland Tough Luck Award: Jake Meier


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, Pro Power Racing Engines, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams, Out-Pace Racing Products, Karsyn’s Krusaders and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, JRi Shocks, Wehrs Machine, Eastern Iowa Spray Foam and Water Proofing, VP Racing Fuels Heartland R.A.C.E. and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Mason Racin, Grove Automotive, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Bully Dog and Quarter Master


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to We are also on Facebook!