Chad Simpson Captures First CBC Victory of the Season at 34 Raceway





Sometimes its just best to be in the right place in the right time. A strong field of 44 Corn Belt Clash Series Late Models checked into 34 Raceway tonight, with veterans Terry Phillips and Kevin Weaver made up the front row of the 40-lap main.

Weaver jumped out to an early lead and paced the field, with several early cautions slowing the event. When they returned to green, the trio of Weaver, Phillips and Chris Simpson pulling away from the field. Simpson pulled past Phillips and using lapped traffic, slipped by Weaver for the point before the midway point in the race. Fifteenth starting Chad Simpson had worked his way into the top-5 by midway, along with the California Kid Tyler Reddick who was making a charge into the top-10 from his 26th starting position. The three-time series champ worked his way into the second position after battling with Jesse Stovall, Brian Shirley and Phillips. Chris Simpson had put a solid straightaway on brother Chad as the laps ran down.

Heartbreak his the #32 machine as he pulled off with mechanical issues with just over two-laps to go, handing the lead and the win to brother Chad., with the top-five rounded out by Jesse Stovall, Brian Shirley, Tyler Reddick and Terry Phillips. Reddick was the AllStar Performance Hard Charger as he advanced 22 positions during the A. Terry Phillips captured the QuickCar Racing Products Quick Six. Tomorrow the CBC heads to Quincy Raceways in Quincy, Illinois for a $3,000-to-win show co-sanctioned by the MARS and ALMS series.

Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Jason Perry
Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Chris Simpson
Pro Power Racing Engines Heat Race #3 Winner: Brandon Sheppard
Cen Pe Co Lubricants Heat Race #4 Winner: Terry Phillips
AllStar Performance Heat Race #5 Winner: Tony Jackson Jr.
QuickCar Racing Products Quick Six Winner: Terry Phillips
VP Racing Fuels Heartland B-Main #1 Winner: Brian Harris B-Main #2 Winner: Mark Dotson

1.    Chad Simpson
2.    Jesse Stovall
3.    Brian Shirley
4.    Tyler Reddick
5.    Terry Phillips
6.    Tony Jackson Jr.
7.    Kevin Weaver
8.    Billy Drake
9.    Justin Kay
10.    Rich Bell
11.    Ryan Unzicker
12.    Brandon Thirlby
13.    Jake Meier
14.    Steve Lance Jr.
15.    Denny Woodworth
16.    Dave Eckrich
17.    Dustin Walker
18.    Chris Simpson
19.    Jay Johnson
20.    Scott Schmidt
21.    Jason Perry
22.    Denny Eckrich
23.    Mark Dotson
24.    Justin Alspin
25.    Mark Burgtorf
26.    Brian Harris
27.    Brandon Sheppard Rookie of the Race Award: Brunson Behning
AllStar Performance Hard Charger: Tyler Reddick
Hooker Custom Harness Award:  Chad Simpson
Landrum Performance Springs Award: Justin Kay
Wehrs Machine Award: Chad Simpson
CV Products Award: Jake Meier
JRi Shocks Award: Dave Eckrich
VP Racing Fuels Heartland Tough Luck Award: Chris Simpson

Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, Pro Power Racing Engines, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams, Out-Pace Racing Products, Karsyn’s Krusaders and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants

Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, JRi Shocks, Wehrs Machine, Eastern Iowa Spray Foam and Water Proofing, VP Racing Fuels Heartland R.A.C.E. and Two Buff Dudes Inc.

Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Mason Racin, Grove Automotive, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Bully Dog and Quarter Master

Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to We are also on Facebook!