Simpson Goes Back-to-Back, Captures Cen-Pe-Co 40






The appears that the dry spell for Chad Simpson is officially over as the Mt. Vernon, Iowa driver captures back-to-back wins on the Corn Belt Clash Series as he backed-up his Thursday night victory with a $3,000 pay day at Fayette County Speedway Friday night for the Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants 40.


A field of 30 CBC Late Models checked into the West Union Fairgrounds track for the annual Fayette County Fair. After picking-up the win in the Kindl LLC Business Solutions Quick Six presented by Pro Power Racing Engines and Grove Automotive, Simpson drew a 6, making him start the field outside of row three. The early leader of the event was the #32 Five Star Shop Services Longhorn Chassis of Chris Simpson who led early with brother Chad in second and pole sitter Curt Martin in third.


Tim Isenberg and Jason Rauen began to move from their deep starting positions as Jason Utter and Dennis Erb broke into the top-five as the field neared the midpoint of the event with the the Simpson brother’s battling out front. A caution for a spinning Jason Rauen brought the field under yellow just past halfway as it was Chad Simpson out front with second now Dennis Erb and Chris Simpson in third with Justin Kay and Tyler Bruening rounding out the top-five.


After a late caution collected several cars, it was Erb who put the pressure on Simpson’s #25 as Erb worked the middle groove while Simpson ran the low line. With only a handful of laps remaining, Erb looked to move into the lead down the backstretch, but Simpson shut the door and was able to extend his lead by a couple of car lengths over Erb and Chris Simpson to take home the victory. Tyler Bruening and Jason Utter rounded out the top-five with Justin Kay, Tim Isenberg, Andrew McKay, Jake Meier and Matt Furman rounding out the top-10.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Aaron Ricketts

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Dennis Erb

JE Pistons Heat Race #3 Winner: Chris Simpson Business Solutions Quick Six Winner: Chad Simpson

Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main #1 Winner: Tim Buhler

RACE B-Main #2 Winner: Kurt Kile


Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants 40 Finish:

1.      Chad Simpson

2.      Dennis Erb

3.      Chris Simpson

4.      Tyler Bruening

5.      Jason Utter

6.      Justin Kay

7.      Tim Isenberg

8.      Andrew McKay

9.      Jake Meier

10.  Matt Furman

11.  Denny Eckrich

12.  Pete Parker

13.  Kurt Kile

14.  Mark Burgtorf

15.  Jon Rogers

16.  Jason Rauen

17.  Tim Buhler

18.  Mike Fryer

19.  Aaron Ricketts

20.  Rob Moss

21.  Jim Rychtik

22.  Jerry Lierly

23.  Dave Eckrich

24.  Curt Martin

25.  Rick Wendling

26.  Charlie McKenna


Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award:  Tim Isenberg

AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Dennis Erb

QuickCar Racing Products Award: Charlie McKenna

Landrum Performance Springs Award: Jake Meier

JE Pistons Awards: Chad Simpson

Comp Cams Award: Justin Kay

Quarter Master Award: Dave Eckrich

CV Products Award: Rick Wendling

Hoosier WRS D-55 Tire Draw Winner: Kurt Kile


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove Automotive, OutPace Racing Products, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine, JD Photography, Bully Dog and Karsyn’s Krusaders


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to We are also on Facebook!