Shirley Takes Home Corn Belt Clash Bohlander Tribute






Chatham's Brian Shirley picked up his 2nd win of the season at Peoria Speedway Sunday night, winning the “Don Bohlander Tribute” and the $4,000 top prize. Rains wreaked havoc with the racing program, settling in as the UMP Modified feature was ending and causing a 90 minute rain delay.


Shirley captured the $500-to-win Kindl LLC Business Solutions Quick Six presented by Richard Robinson., but drew a 5 and started 5th. As the green dropped, pole sitter Steve Lance, Jr shot to the lead on a lightning fast but rough race track. Billy Drake scooted past Lance, Jr. on lap six and Shirley began to run the high side of the track.


On lap 13, Shirley jumped to the top in turns one and two and got a run on the leaders in 3 and 4, passing both Drake and Lance, Jr to take the lead. Jason Feger moved into 2nd on lap 14, before a 3-car pileup on lap 15 slowed the action. Shirely and Feger would dice through lapped traffic, but the race would go green the rest of the 50 lap distance and Feger could never get past Shirley and had to settle for 2nd. Drake finished 3rd, with Corn Belt Clash Series point leader Chris Simpson finishing fourth and Friday night winner Tim Isenberg rounding out the top-5.


“First off, I want to thank all the fans who sat through all the rain,” Shirley said in victory lane. “They did as good as they could do with the track but it was a little rough. I got a great run on the top and was able to get the lead past Drake. It's been a rough week for us, so its good to get this win.” Business Solutions Quick Six presented by Richard Robinson Winner: Brian Shirley


50-lap Bohlander Tribute Feature Finish:

1.      Brian Shirley

2.      Jason Feger

3.      Billy Drake

4.      Chris Simpson

5.      Tim Isenberg

6.      Ryan Unzicker

7.      Kevin Weaver

8.      Bobby Pierce

9.      Todd Bennett

10.  Steve Lance, Jr.

11.  Kyle Logue

12.  Wes Steidinger

13.  Dick Taylor

14.  Jon Rogers

15.  Bob Gardner

16.  Rich Bell

17.  Jim Rytchik

18.  John Gardner, Jr.

19.  Jake Meier

20.  Chad Simpson

21.  Scott Schmidt


Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award:  Todd Bennett

AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Brian Shirley

QuickCar Racing Products Award: Chad Simpson

Landrum Performance Springs Award: Billy Drake

Comp Cams Award: Tim Isenberg

Quarter Master Award: Chad Simpson

CV Products Award: Chris Simpson

Hoosier WRS D-55 Tire Draw Winner: Jim Rychtik

Contingency Connection Awards: $50 from JE Pistons: Jake Meier; $25 Edelbrock Certificate: Bobby Pierce; $25 QuickFuel Certificate: Jason Feger; $50 JE Certificate: Steve Drake; Aeroquip Certificate: Chris Simpson; $25 PBM Certificate: Jon Rogers; $25 Taylor Wires Certificate: Kevin Weaver; $25 Scorpion Gift Certificate: Dick Taylor and $25 Hawk Brake Certificate: Steve Lance, Jr.


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Wrap’d by Dynamic Decals, Callies Performance Products and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove Automotive, OutPace Racing Products, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine, JD Photography, Bully Dog and Karsyn’s Krusaders


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.