Vaught Tops CBC Season Opener




The 2012 Corn Belt Clash Series season opener took place under clear skies in Greenwood, Nebraska on the high-banks of I-80 Speedway and when the checkered flag flew, it was Crane, Missouri’s Will ‘The Thrill’ Vaught taking home the $3,000 pay day and the locked-in starting position for the 2nd annual Silver Dollar Nationals.

David Turner and two-time and defending Lucas Oil MLRA Series Champion John Anderson made up the front row for the 35-lap A-Main, co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil MLRA Series. Anderson sprinted out to the early lead with third place starter Chris Simpson quickly in tow.

Simpson quickly took over the point among a good battle up front with John Anderson and Missouri’s Terry Phillips at the front of the field. Simpson slowly started to pull away from the field during the middle portion as Will Vaught made his way up from his 12th starting position to battle the top-five. Two-thousand eleven series runner-up Tim Isenberg and two-time CBC Series Champion Chad Simpson also were working their way forward from deep in the field.

A caution wiped out Simpson’s lead with 11 laps to go and set-up the scene for a great late race battle as the pack was now grouped together. Will Vaught shot from his second place position into the lead using the high-side, as Simpson continued to work the low line.  Phillips challenged Simpson for the runner as the race ran its final laps with 14th place starter Tim Isenberg working his into the top-five.

As the checkered flags flew, Will Vaught captured his first career Corn Belt Clash victory, followed by Chris Simpson, Terry Phillips, John Anderson and Tim Isenberg. Denny Eckrich came from the 17th starting position to finish 7th capturing the Hook Harness Hard Charger Award while defending series champion Chad Simpson came home one spot back in 8th from his 18th starting spot. Wisconsin’s Jim Rychtik came home in 27th position, after qualifying through his heat race in his first race back with the CBC after suffering burns in an off-season incident while dynoing a motor.

The Corn Belt Clash returns to action this Friday, April 13th at the Davenport Speedway in Davenport, Iowa for the Karsyn’s Krusaders 40. The series makes its first appearance at the Peoria Speedway the next night on April 14th as the series is part of the annual ‘Bohlander Memorial’ with $4,000 on the line to the winner. Bonus money will be on the line for the Saturday event for licensed Corn Belt Clash drivers, call or email the series for more details.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race 1 Winner: Dave Eckrich

Comp Cams Heat Race 2 Winner: David Turner

JE Pistons Heat Race 3 Winner: Jesse Stovall

Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants Heat Race 4 Winner: Chris Simpson


Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main 1 Winner: Denny Eckrich

RACE B-Main 2 Winner: Chad Simpson


CBC Provisional Starters: Jill George and Rob Moss


Feature Finish:

1.      Will Vaught

2.      Chris Simpson

3.      Terry Phillips

4.      John Anderson

5.      Tim Isenberg

6.      Jesse Stovall

7.      Denny Eckrich

8.      Chad Simpson

9.      Dylan Smith

10.    David Turner

11.    Mike Collins

12.    Matthew Aukland

13.    Jake Meier

14.    Mark Dotson

15.    Bill Leighton, Jr.

16.    Andrew Kosiski

17.    Bryan Albeson

18.    Kevin Sather

19.    Scott Koskovich

20.    Rob Moss

21.    Jill George

22.    Jason Rauen

23.    Travis Dickes

24.    Justin Mitchell

25.    Leon Zeitner

26.    Dave Eckrich

27.    James Rychtik

28.    Bill Koons


Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award:  Denny Eckrich

AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Tim Isenberg

QuickCar Racing Products Award: John Rogers

Landrum Performance Springs Award: Jake Meir

JE Pistons Awards: Justin Michell

Comp Cams Award: Jill George

Quarter Master Award: Pat Doar

CV Products Award: Chad Simpson


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams, and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Wrap’d by Dynamic Decals and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: Callies Performance Products, CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove Automotive, Out-Pace Racing Products, Signs by Design, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine and Karsyn’s Krusaders


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.