Rauen tops the field At Elko night two


Rauen Tops Matthees at CBC Finale at Elko Speedway


It looked like Lance Matthees might make it two-for-two in the final 2011 weekend of the Dart Corn Belt Clash Series but trouble with a lapped car allowed ‘Hammer Down’ Jason Rauen to drive his M-B Customs #98 to the topside in the closing laps to take the win and the $3,000 pay day in the series final event of the season.


Matthees and Chris Simpson started on the front row as determined by the re-draw after threatening weather had to cancel the Kindll LLC Fast Dash and put a delay in the night’s A-Main. After Elko Speedway track crews worked to get the dirt surface, laid over the track’s normal asphalt surface, back into shape after a rain drizzle mix made its way over the facility, it was Friday night’s winner Matthees who sped out to an early lead. He held the point over Chris Simpson, Jason Rauen, Tim Isenberg and newly crowned CBC Champion Chad Simpson.


The race took an interesting twist on lap 6 when Chad make contact with brother Chris in turns 1 and 2 while battling for the second position that resulted in the #32 spinning. As the yellow flag was displayed, a multi-car incident happened on the exit of turn four as John Kaanta ended up on his side after attempting to avoid another slowed car. On the ensuring restart following the Simpson/Simpson/Kaanta incident, Matthees re-took the lead with Rauen now in the runner-up position after both Simpson were sent to the tail of the field.


Mathees continued to lead the event, pulling out to almost a straightway lead over Rauen, Tim Isenberg and Justin Mitchell. Heavily lapped traffic slowed Matthees who stayed glued to the bottom groove and Rauen began to close the gap. In the closing laps, Rauen made a charge on the top-side exiting turn two to over take leader Matthees, using the lapped car as a pick, to take the lead. Rauen pulled away from Friday night’s winner over the final two laps to take the win in the series final race of 2011 over Matthees, Isenberg, Justin Mitchell and Jill George.


Feature Results:

  1. Jason Rauen
  2. Lance Matthees
  3. Tim Isenberg
  4. Justin Mitchell
  5. Jill George
  6. Darrell DeFrance
  7. Pat Doar
  8. Rick Wendling
  9. Adam Hensel
  10. Charlie McKenna
  11. Dennis Erb Jr.
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Chad Simpson
  14. Skp Frye
  15. Jason Utter
  16. Kevin Keuhn
  17. Clarence Washburn
  18. Chris Simpson
  19. Joe Ludeman
  20. Dennis Hillson
  21. Jim Rychtik
  22. Rob Moss
  23. Andrew McKay
  24. Tony Patchen
  25. Brett Swedberg
  26. John Kaanta
  27. Travis Budisalvich


Heats were won by Chris Simpson, Lance Matthees and Chad Simpson

The series 2011 champion is Chad Simpson, second is Tim Isenberg and third is Chris Simpson.

Hooker Harness Hard Charger : Adam Hensel

Kindll LLC.com Business Solutions Fast Dash: Not Awarded

Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: John Kaanta

Hoosier WRS D-55 Tire Draw Winner: Andrew McKay

Corn Belt Clash Title Sponsors: Dart and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants

Corn Belt Clash Official Sponsors: R.A.C.E, Manley, JE Pistons, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Isky Racing Cams and Wix Filters

Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: Kindl LLC., Total Seal Rings, RaceTec Pistons, OutPace Racing Products, Quarter Master, Hooker Harness, Dirt Digz, ASI Sports Wear, Grove Auto, Pro Power Racing Engines, JR Motorsports, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Racing Head Service, DirtDigz, RaceFanNation.com, Wrap’d by Dynamic Decals

For more info on the Dart Corn Belt Clash Series presented by Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants, checkout www.CornBeltClash.com. We are also on Facebook!